Danger Mouse & Black Thought Share MF DOOM Collab “Belize”: Stream

However Danger Mouse and Dark Mind shared some stellar collaborations in anticipation of their new album, Cheat Codesthey hold a track together with the latter MF DOOM titled “Belize.” Now that the album is in the wild, we can finally hear the collaboration of the three artists.

Danger Mouse’s production on “Belize” is full of soul, with warm brass and a hypnotic bassline that makes way for each MC to spit a dizzying array of bars. Even without a chorus to bridge the gap, the track continues to transition from Black Thought’s precise delivery to DOOM’s less structured flow with ease. When two of the greatest rappers of all time appear back to back, song structure is irrelevant.

“You checked out the Top 2 out of a thousand smart chaps,” Black Thought boasted. “With rap projects in housing developments.” Meanwhile, DOOM delivered lines of his own like, “Fat rat, the mask makes him batty as a Mad Hatter/ Known for his stupid word choices/ And ignores you when you ask him if he heard voices.”

Black Thought last appeared on a track with Danger Mouse and DOOM in 2017, when he guested on “Mad Nice,” a bonus track from the latter two artists’ re-release of the 2005 DANGERDOOM album The Mouse and The Mask.

“We had done some stuff years after the DANGERDOOM album,” explained Danger Mouse recently interviews with consequences. “We kept working and then there were some songs where both Tarik and DOOM were, songs that I worked on. I would give DOOM a track with Tarik and vice versa.

Stream “Belize” below, along with more Cheat Codes. The album also includes previously released singles such as “No Gold Teeth,” the Michael Kiwanuka-assisted “Aquamarine,” “strangers” featuring A$AP Rocky and Run the Jewels, and “because” with Joey Bada$$, Russ, and Dylan Cartlidge.

Cheat Codes Artwork:

Cheat Codes Tracklist:
01. Sometimes
02. Cheat Code
03. The Darkest Part (feat. Raekwon and Kid Sister)
04. No Gold Teeth
05. Because (feat. Joey Bada$$, Russ, and Dylan Cartlidge)
06. Belize (feat. MF DOOM)
07. Aquamarine (feat. Michael)
08. Same Death
09. Strangers (feat. A$AP Rocky and Run The Jewels)
10. Close to Fame
11. Saltwater (feat. Conway the Machine)
12. Voilas & Lupitas

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.