Generations Announces Classic-Lineup Album, “Baby Doncha Know” Opens

Descendants announces a new album, 9th and Walnut, featuring the classic early lineup of legendary punk act. Early in the July 23 release via Epitaph, the band released their first single, “Baby Doncha Know”.

The first lineup of California punk band guitarist Frank Navetta, bassist Tony Lombardo, and drummer Bill Stevenson really hit the studio to record 9th and Walnut in 2002. The material was taken from songs that were first conceived or poorly recorded in the band’s early years from 1977 to 1980, including those written before singer Milo Aukerman joined the band in 1980.

The tracks remained sleepless for nearly two decades, with Navetta sadly passing away at the age of 46 in 2008. During the pandemic, Stevenson finally decided to visit the recordings, sending them to Aukerman to add vocals. The result is 17 original tracks written during the band’s formation, as well as a cover of “Everyone’s Happy” by The Dave Clark Five.

As for the first single, Stevenson stated, “‘Baby Doncha Know’ is probably the fifth song we know. We go to 9th & Walnut every weekend and practice all day. I just always remember that I was amazed at how a kid my age, who would go to my high school ‘could write all these cool songs. It was as if Frank had matured beyond his years. I never asked him who or what it was. “I’m just glad I was there with him and Tony.”

Aukerman recalls seeing the band rehearse several numbers of songs on the album before joining the group, said Rolling Stone, “I went to see them rehearse, and the songs they played were these songs. I actually sang ‘It’s a Hectic World’, and after a while, they asked me to join. But at times that was that is, some of the songs have already been removed from the scheduled list. “

The lineup of Aukerman, Navetta, Lombardo, and Stevenson both recorded the seminal debut album of Descendants, circa 1982’s Milo Goes to College. It was the only LP to appear in the lineup (so far), as the band would continue to retire in 1983, with Navetta never returning and Lombardo leaving immediately after being with the band in 1985. Since 1986 , Stephen Egerton and Karl Alvarez have become the band’s guitarist and bassist, respectively.

It was also announced yesterday that the Descendants taking the place of NOFX as a headliner at the 2021 Punk Rock Bowling festival this September in Las Vegas. NOFX decided to bow to receiving hate messages for crude they did a few years back about the 2017 mass shooting that killed more than 50 people at the country festival in Vegas.

Descendants 9th and Walnut the album is available for pre-order in a variety of physical formats from official band store and digital through Amazon. Listen to “Baby Doncha Know” below.

9th and Walnut Artwork:

9th generations and Walnut

9th and Walnut Tracklist:
01. Choosing a Sailor
02. Crepe Suzette
03. You Made Me Sick
04. Lullaby
05. Gabii
06. Baby Doncha knows
07. Tired of Fatigue
08. I was shaking
09. Anger
10. Mohicans
11. Like the Way I Know
12. It’s A Hectic World
13. To Remember
14. Formerly Disgusted
15. This is My Hair
16. I Need Some
17. Riding in the Forest
18. Happy With All (Dave Clark Five cover)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *