Grizzly Bear Members Announce Soundtrack for Past Lives

Grizzly bearof Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear announced that the soundtrack they created for the upcoming Celine Song A24 movie, Past Life, will be released on June 9 via A24 Music. They also shared two singles from the project, “Why Are You Going to New York” and “Across the Ocean.”

Open, airy, subtle, and melodic, both “Why You Go To New York” and “Across the Ocean” speak to the musicianship that Rossen and Bear have displayed since Grizzly Bear first hit nearly 20 years ago. . They adopted a familiar, acoustic production palette as well — listening to the songs, it’s easy to feel like you’re in a big, open room with the musicians, engulfed by pianos and strings as the sunlight enter the windows.

In addition to the score by Rossen and Bear, the soundtrack will also feature an original song: “Quiet Eyes,” written and performed by Sharon Van Etten and Zachary Dawes. Listen to “Why You Go to New York” and “Across the Ocean” below, and then keep scrolling to see the album artwork and tracklist for Past Life original soundtrack.

Past Life is Song’s first feature film, and follows the lives of two childhood friends as they drift apart in Korea and reunite two decades later in New York. A “modern romance,” the story explores themes of identity and human connection. Greta Lee, Teo Yoo, and John Magaro star. The film will hit theaters in New York and Los Angeles on June 2nd, a week before the soundtrack debuts.

Grizzly Bear has kept a low profile in recent years, with one of the band’s main vocalists, Ed Drostequietly left the group in 2020. Rossen, however, unveiled his debut solo LP last year, You Are There. Van Etten, meanwhile, issued an anniversary edition of the third album, trumpearlier this year.

The Past Lives Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Artwork:

The Past Lives Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Tracklist:
01. When You Leave Something Out
02. Crossing
03. You Got It Too
04. Do You Remember Me
05. I Remember You
06. Across the Sea
07. Crossing II
08. In Yun
09. Here We Live
10. Why Are You Going to New York
11. Staring at a Ghost
12. Bedroom
13. An Immigrant and a Tourist
14. Eight Thousand Layers
15. See You
16. Silent Eyes – Sharon Van Etten

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *