JAY-Z, Foo Fighters, Tina Turner Inducted Into Rock Hall of Fame 2021

the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2021 inductees announced. JAY-Z and Foo Fighters appointed after being selected in their first year of qualification. Tina Turner, the Go-Go’s, Todd Rundgren, ug Carole King also entered. This is the second induction for Dave Grohl (formerly with Nirvana), Turner (formerly with Ike Turner), and King (formerly with Gerry Goffin). Turner and King followed Stevie Nicks as the same women who were added multiple times.

Outside of the “Performers” induction category, many iconic artists have received recognition from Rock Hall. The recipient of this year’s Early Influence Award Kraftwerk, Gil Scott-Heron, ug Charley Patton. The Musical Excellence Award went LL Cool J, Billy Preston, and Randy Rhoads. Music director Clarence Avant is currently honored with the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

This is the first year that three female actresses have been included in the producers category. “This is the most diverse class of inductees in the history of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, told Pitchfork.

LL Cool J and Kraftwerk have been selected for Rock Hall consideration on several occasions. Asked if their new awards prevent them from future induction in the Performers category, Sykes replied, “It’s important to remember that these special committee awards give the artist the same exact award as their made by a performer. They are placed on the same wall next to the inductees of the performance. ”

Rage Against the Machine, Mary J. Blige, Kate Bush, Devo, Iron Maiden, Chaka Khan, Fela Kuti, New York Dolls, and Dionne Warwick are on this year’s longlist, but are not included.

The Rock Hall 2021 ceremony is scheduled to take place Oct. 30, 2021, at the Rocket Mortgage FieldHouse arena in Cleveland, Ohio. (A special HBO and HBO Max will air at a later date. Last year’s live ceremony was replaced by a far aired HBO special featuring inductees.) “We saw it as one of the first significant live in-person events to celebrate again in America and the world,” Sykes said. “A tradition that will continue is for younger artists to pay tribute to the elderly who have been inducted.”

Performer Category:
Foo Fighters
The Go-Go’s
Carole King
Todd Rundgren
Tina Turner

Ahmet Ertegun Award:
Clarence Formerly

Music Award for Good:
LL cool J
Billy Preston
Randy Rhoads

Early Influence Award:
Gil Scott-Heron
Charley Patton

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *