Rhiannon Giddens and Hua Hsu Win 2023 Pulitzer Prizes

Now, the List of 2023 Pulitzer Prize winners announced. Folk artist Rhiannon Giddens and orchestral composer Michael Abels was awarded a Pulitzer in Music for the opera Omar. Other finalists in the Music category include Monochromatic Light (After Life) by Tyshawn Sorey and view by Jerrilynn Patton. Check out LA Opera’s interview with Giddens about the story and music behind it Omar down.

“There are a million different ways to tell the story of Omar, and I hope that happens. I hope this is not the last we hear of Omar ibn Said. He deserves as many treatments as many other stories in America,” Giddens said LA Opera last year. “I chose a way to go about it that made sense to me as an American, North Carolinian, banjo player of all races, and I was very clear about that. But in my own way, I really tried to say his words as much as possible. There is a victory in Omar and that is the important part of digging this history, especially for the people of the African diaspora.

In addition, author Hua Hsu won the Pulitzer Prize in Memoir for her book Stay Real over the finalists Easy Beauty by Chloé Cooper Jones and The Man Who Could Move the Clouds by Ingrid Rojas Contreras. See the complete list of this year’s Pulitzer Prize’s winners website.

The Pulitzer Prize in Music has gone to more and more artists in recent years, including composer and noise musician Raven Chacon in 2022, the late Aretha Franklin and composer Ellen Reid in 2019, rapper Kendrick Lamar in 2018, and composer and singer Caroline Shaw in 2013.[When I heard I got it]I thought, to be recognized in an academic world … whoa, this thing can really take me above and beyond,” Kendrick said in a 2018 interview. “It’s one of those things that needed to happen in hip-hop a long time ago.”

Read the “The Memoirs of Hua Hsu Stay Real As Affective as a Great Pop Song“and”With Kendrick Lamar’s Pulitzer Win, The World Can Finally Catch Up With Rap” in Pitch.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *