Ryuichi Sakamoto, Sigur Rós, and More Selected on the New Charity Ambient Album

Coldcut compiles and follows an album of surrounding recordings of old and new masters of the form, including Ryuichi Sakamoto and Suzanne Ciani. Released with Coldcut’s Ninja Tune imprint Ahead of Our Time to benefit mental health charities, @ 0 there will also be new work by Steve Roach, Julianna Barwick, Laraaji, and Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith, as well as a Sigur Rós rework by close bandmate Paul Corley. Released on November 19, followed by EPs on track pairs. Listen to the first, with Ciani’s “Morning Spring” and Smith’s “Mt Baker,” below.

Coldcut’s Matt Black says: “‘@ 0 ’refers to the limited condition experienced on many occasions where my mental and emotional strength is not strong and it feels like teetering a zero axis to almost fall into depression, or more rarely, wonder.I have found that the music around, through the unsolicited psychic, always opens up some void and with its soft lust, subtle raises the power, helps avoid the downward spiral and navigates slowly. @ 0 is a point of balance. ”

Ninja Tune donates 50% of net income to CALM (Campaign Against Living Miserably), Mind, and Black Minds Matter.

@ 0:

01 Ryuichi Sakamoto: “Aqua (from Play Piano for the Isolated) ”
02 Double Cushion: “For Ignatz Carmelite”
03 Julianna Barwick: “Star Ray”
04 ANNA: “Another Dream”
05 Obay Alsharani: “Dream Within a Dream”
06 Daniel Pemberton / FSOL: “Behind the Eyes”
07 NDIPA X Flex Machine: “Bandra Tanpura” [ft. Sandeep Mishra]
08 ill-esha: “Sonata of Solitude”
09 Specialists: “Concrète Dreams”
10 Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith: “Mt Baker”
11 Skee Mask: “CG Drip”
12 Helena Hauff: “Thalassa”
13 Rovo / System 7: “Invisible Onsen (translucent Mix)”
14 Coldcut: “The Fire Burns”
15 Sigur Rós: “Rembihnútur (Liminal rework by Paul Corley)”
16 Imogen Heap: “The Happy Song (Coldcut Remix)”
17 Ned Scott (The Egg): “Patchwork”
18 Noodreem: “The Healing Light of Sound”
19 Suzanne Ciani: “Morning by Morning”
20 James Heather: “And He Came Home (Strings Version)”
21 Nailah Hunter: “Sadko”
22 David Wenngren: “Pianoise”
23 A Victory for the Sullens: “Beethoven 250”
24 Steve Roach: “The Drift Home”
25 Laraaji: “Attaching Time”
26 Yak Herder: “Otaku Reverse”
27 Mira Calix: “danaïdes”
28 FRKTL: “Rhododendron Forest Rescue”
29 Unstoppable Force X Coldcut: “Autumn Comes Back”
30 Coldcut X Mixmaster Morris: “@ 0 Mix”

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *